Terra Nova

est. 1989   |   People helping people

Minutes May 2019

Postal Employees 25 Year Club
(A Council of the Terra Nova Chapter Heritage Club)

Minutes from the meeting held at the Royal Canadian Legion, Blackmarsh Road on Wednesday, May 22, 2019.

The meeting came to order at 6:40 p.m. The minutes from our last meeting of April 24, 2019 were accepted on a motion by Bill Marshall and seconded by Jim Flynn.

The following were in attendance:

A. Abbott
R. Anderson
A. Angel
L. Banfield
G. Bishop
D. Brewer
M. Browne
M. Bursey
L. Carroll
B. Coultas
L. Croft
M. Daly
J. Flynn
P. Foote
D. Hall
G. Hall
B. Hiscock
E. Holmes
E. Howlett
N. Keough
M. Keough
G. Knight
G. Lacey
D. Leamon
J. Mackey
B. Marshall
T. McCarthy
D. McCarthy
R. Mealey
Y. Mealey
B. Meaney
N. Myrick
I. Parsons
J. Parsons
N. Rendell
R. Royle
G. Ryall
G. Sheehan
B. Thompson
D. Tiller
N. Tiller
C. Wall
R. Wells
R. Welsh


Tony Spratt, now residing at the Agnes Pratt Home. Bud Constantine, recuperating at his home.

Our best wishes go out to them.






Marje Keough presented her report, which was accepted on a motion by Leona Banfield.


The Janeway Telethon takes place on Saturday and Sunday, June 1st and 2nd. Adrian Angel will be coordinating our efforts again this year, and he will be seeking volunteers for 4-7:30 p.m. on Sunday, June 2nd.

Members are reminded about the Heritage Club Scholarship Program, details available on the website, www:heritageclub.ca. There is also a Johnson Insurance Scholarship Program, which our members are eligible to apply for. Details available on the Johnson Insurance website, or members can contact El Holmes for information.

The next Canada Post Annual Public Meeting will be held in St. John’s on June 12th. An open invitation has been received for our members to attend.

We will be preparing a breakfast at the Kenmount Road plant on Wednesday, May 29th, proceeds to go to the Janeway Telethon.

We have received undeliverable mail for the following members. If anyone can help us relocate these people, please contact El Holmes or Eric Howlett.
Ed Lambert
Diane Bolger
Helena Lush

Election of officers for the Postal Employees 25 Year Club for the period 2019-2021 was held. All incumbents were acclaimed to their positions for another term. All had expressed a desire to step aside for various reasons, but since all other nominations were declined, they did agree to continue for one more term. There will be an urgent need in 2021 for new people to offer themselves for these important positions. The current executive consists of:
President Eric Howlett
Vice-President Ralph Wells
Secretary Wayne Murphy
Treasurer Marje Keough

President Holmes of the Terra Nova Chapter, Heritage Club, welcomed the executive and thanked them for their service. He then wished all members a safe and happy summer, and encouraged them to enjoy the barbeque prepared by the Legion staff.

The next meeting will held on Wednesday, September 25, 2019.
The meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m. on a motion by Bob Thompson, seconded by Bas Meaney, followed by a delicious barbeque supper.

El Holmes,
A/ Wayne Murphy, Secretary